Our Mission:  

"To bring youth to Christ through a Scouting Ministry."

The Association of Baptists for Scouting was founded in 1954 on the principles of the common goals of scouting and the moral teachings of faith-based (Baptist) churches.

"Baptist Scouting; Reaching, Teaching, & Ministering to Children, Youth, & Families"


The Annual Meeting of the Association of Baptists for Scouting was held at 7:00 pm MDT (9:00 pm EDT) on Monday, July 12, 2021. The physical meeting location was the Philmont Training Center. ABS member attending the Baptist Conference attended in person and others join the meeting by telephone (or ZOOM platform).

The principal item of business was the election of Officers and Directors to serve until the next Annual Meeting. The following new officers were elected;

     President - Donna Copeland *
     EVP (& Field Service) - John Lyon *
     VP Membership & Member Communications
          - Elrico Hurley*
     Recording Secretary - Merri Bolen
     Treasurer - Thomas Martin
     Chaplain - Jeff Thompson *
     Past President - Ted Spangenberg *
     Board Members - At Large:
           Kerry Cheesman
           Kent Brittain
           Tim Baker *
           Pam Thompson *

*indicates new position
The President also provided a brief overview of activities and Board actions over the past year. The activities discussed included the Philmont Chapel Renovations, Eagle Scout recognition, the Baptist Association Conference at the Philmont Training Center and the new patches for membership and unit awards.